Home
Yvonne Adcox Staff Photo
Subjects Taught
6th Grade Math, 6th Grade Science , 6th Grade Social Studies , 6th Language Arts, 8th Grade Language Arts, 8th Grade Math, 8th Grade Science , 8th Grade Social Studies

Education

College

Lake-Sumter Community College 1982-1987 I studied while raising my first child and earned a transfer degree, Associates of Arts (A.A.).

University of Central Florida  1987-1989 I studied elementary education and early childhood and earned a Bachelor's of Science (B.S.) in Elementary Education.

Clemson University 1992-1994 I was a graduate assistant for the Associate Dean of Education for Grants Research.  I graduated with a Master's Degree in Special Education majoring in Behavior Disorders (M.Ed.)



Experience

Training and Experience: 

1989 I completed my student teaching in both early childhood and elementary, teaching kindergarten and fourth grade.

Summer 1992-Clemson University Internship, Greenville Hospital System, Marshall I. Pickens Mental Hospital, Student Teacher

Post Graduation:

August 1989-May 1990 Mascotte Elementary School, Mascotte, Florida Kindergarten Teacher

Summer of 1990:  I taught in an English as a Second Language Summer program in an international boarding school, Montverde Academy, in Montverde, Florida.  My students were ages 8 to 13 years old from Taiwan and were given immersion classes and experiences in English.

August 1990-May 1991 Lake County Schools, Tavares, Florida Substitute teacher

August 1991-December 1992 Stephens County Schools, Toccoa, Georgia Substitute teacher

January 1992-August 1992 Clemson University, Graduate Assistant in Research for Grants

August 1992-May 1993 Franklin County Schools, Franklin County High School, Special Education, Emotional-Behavioral Disabilities

August 1993-Present Franklin County Schools, Franklin County Middle School, Special Education, English, Gifted English, English-as-a-Second Language (ESOL), Technology Specialist

Certification:

Highly Qualified Elementary Education with Early Childhood (Preschool-Grade 5), Middle Grades English (Grades 4-8), Reading (Preschool-Grade 12) Special Education General Curriculum, Special Education Emotional Behavior Disorders Consultative

ENDORSEMENTS:  English as a Second Language, Gifted in-Field, Teacher Support Specialist



Bio

I was born in south Florida where my mother and father raised five children.  We eventually moved to North Florida where my parents still reside today.

 School was very easy for me, and I excelled in school all my life. An education had primary importance in my family even though my parents came from a humble farm and church ministry background.  

Today, I have three children, two are grown with one still at home.  My youngest son has Down Syndrome, and helping people learn more about these special people is one of my life's goals.  

I am very physically active and enjoy mountain biking, hiking, kayaking, camping, fishing, hunting and exercise.  In my quieter moments, I enjoy reading non-fiction mostly and researching. In addition, I love drawing people, creating quilts, and gardening.  

When I retire, besides taking care of our (mine and my husband's) aging parents, my husband and I will farm and keep chickens and goats either in South Carolina or Florida.  My ultimate goal is to write.  Whether it is a blog, book, magazine article, journal, or scrapbook, I plan to write everyday.

Address